In All Fairness to CloudBees

** EDIT ** Please make sure to check out the comments section for some additional information from a CloudBees engineer. He was kind enough to explain to set up their build environment to support some of the tools I mention below.

Today, due to some frustration I experienced, I tweeted:

In fairness to CloudBees, I should explain further.

Jenkins is, in my opinion, the reference implementation of continuous integration. It’s really great. While it favors Java, it’s not uncommon to see folks use it to run iOS builds, Ruby, Node, you name it. It’s very extendable and has an active developer community. I’ve had significant success using it for the last few years and, earlier this week at my new gig, my team and I setup an environment.

Hosted solutions can be a great idea because they often handle all the stuff about hardware and OS setup I don’t really care about. I am not a system administrator and I didn’t want to provision and manage a VM just for CI if I could help it (I know, being lazy but honest here). CloudBees seemed like a great choice and we had it up and running in literally minutes. It supported Gradle and Grails right out of the box (currently pieces of our software stack), has GitHub integration and other cool features. So far, pretty big win.

However, I’ve grown very used to using Jenkins for things outside of stock Java builds. For example, you can use Jenkins to test JavaScript (see this for an excellent example). We have also been using JRuby and Rake for pieces of our application stack and Jenkins has nice support for that also.

The hosted version, however, didn’t support much outside a stock Java (Ant, Gradle, Maven, Grails) build. I don’t necessarily blame them as trying to keep up with versions of Node, Ruby, PhamtomJS, whatever is probably outside the core competency of CloudBees. They are, first and foremost, a Java hosting platform. However, it sort of sunk us. After trying workarounds for a few hours, my team and I decided to move over to a RackSpace virtual host and setup our own custom solution.

So, to be fair, CloudBees hosted Jenkins (and even their application cloud) is an excellent choice if you are interested in building Java/JVM applications and don’t mind not having support for other, perhaps more fringe, tooling. The system itself ran flawlessly and worked very well for the more common tasks we sent its way. However, it’s just not a long term solution for the things we’re looking to do.

To quote Wheaton’s law:

My tweet was a little uncool and not very fair; I hope this explains it better!

About johnnywey

Welcome to A Regular Expression. This blog is designed to reflect my thoughts on life, music, software design, Apple, faith, philosophy, and whatever else I can think of.

Posted on June 7, 2012, in Java, Programming. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Johnny,

    As per my tweet back to you – we (CloudBees) use JRuby / Ruby MRI / Rails for some of our apps. Jenkins does the build, testing and deployment for those apps 24×7.

    While it’s not as seamless a setup as building a Maven project; it’s not particularly tricky (once you’ve done it a few times of course).

    Ruby builds are usually up-to-date not long after they’re released – http://wiki.cloudbees.com/bin/view/DEV/Ruby+Builds
    Node builds are done on demand (or when I see an article announcing a new version) – http://wiki.cloudbees.com/bin/view/DEV/Node+Builds
    PostgreSQL are on demand – http://wiki.cloudbees.com/bin/view/DEV/PostgreSQL

    Since every customer requires a different version of Ruby / Node / PostgreSQL; we just offer a 2 line bash script to install and configure these products in the build cycle.

    We also support Android builds – http://wiki.cloudbees.com/bin/view/DEV/Android – and lots of other stuff that would probably be considered “fringe” from a Java perspective.

    If you have issues, just ask on the forums (https://cloudbees.zendesk.com/forums/177871-user-forum-dev-cloud) and our fearless support team will likely get back to you with “here is how it is done” or “it will be available shortly”.

    Cheers,

    Ben


    Ben Walding
    CloudBees Engineering (in case it wasn’t obvious!)

Leave a Reply

