On My Leopard Installation So Far …

Well, today I pulled the trigger: I received OS X Leopard (10.5) in the mail and decided to install it. I had most of the night free, so I figured it would be a good time to attempt an upgrade and see what might take place.

Except for a couple of problems (only one Leopard related), things seem to be going pretty well.

I’ll be posting more on this in the next few days, including application compatibility issues (or, hopefully, lack thereof), system performance, etc. For now, while things don’t appear as “zippy” as they did in Tiger, they haven’t been bad by any means.

I did have a problem, after the new Keychain 10.5 update, with my Airport card suddenly disappearing. I went ahead and dragged an ethernet cable over to the Mac and immediately found the culprit (if you’re interested, check this out: http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=5661752#5661752.

Also, I experienced my first real need to use my RAID array as, somewhere between my upgrade and now, my media drive decided to fail. I’m not sure if it is the drive itself (doesn’t seem to be) or simply data corruption. I am in the process of restoring it now (from backup).

Here’s hoping things continue to go well …

About johnnywey

Welcome to A Regular Expression. This blog is designed to reflect my thoughts on life, music, software design, Apple, faith, philosophy, and whatever else I can think of.

Posted on October 30, 2007, in Apple, Leopard. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

